Congratulations Dr. Payton for joining the Education of Gifted and Talented Children Council

dr payton

The Advisory Council on the Education of Gifted and Talented Children (Council) was established by the Missouri legislature in 2013. The purpose of the Council is to provide advice to the Commissioner of Education regarding all rules and policies to be adopted by the State Board of Education relating to the education of gifted and talented children. The legislation governing the Council is Chapter 161 of the Missouri Revised Statutes, Section 161.249. The Council is made up of seven members and two alternates, with terms beginning on September 1 of each year. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education is grateful for these volunteers who will serve on the Council this year, 2022-23:

·         Dr. Beth Winton, Chair, Columbia Public Schools

·         Ms. Ginger Beaird, Bernie R-XIII School District

·         Dr. Michael Dragoni, Kirkwood School District

·         Dr. Lenae Lazzelle, Springfield Public Schools

·         Dr. Dennis Rhodes, Rockwood School District

·         Ms. Amanda Sauerwein, resides in Rolla Public Schools

·         Ms. Carol Toney, North Kansas City Schools

·         Mr. Karl McKimmey, Alternate, Lebanon R-3

·         Dr. DeShonda Payton, Alternate, Jennings School District